This website is currently being redesigned; a new version should be available later in 2020. If you have suggestions for improvements or problems with this site, please contact Jon Burkhardt, Website Redesign Committee Chair, at .

Elections and Awards

It is that time of the year again!!!  Time to elect new leaders of our great organization, and time to recognize those that have dedicated their time and service to the AKA. Ballots were mailed out by September 1st, and you should be seeing them in your mailboxes this week.  


You can find statements of the candidates for the various positions up for election this year on our Members’ Only page. On the home page (the one that opens when you login) you will see a link directing you where you can find the full list.  Alternatively, you can click on the following link and it will take you directly to the website.


Every year we recognize folks for their service and commitment to the AKA. Three people are recognized for their lifetime service as a Kiteflier (Steve Edeiken Award), Volunteer (Robert M Ingraham Award) and Kite Artist (Lee Toy).

Additionally, there are 3 Awards handed out by the current President of the AKA recognizing the Kite Club, Regional Director, and Volunteer that have been instrumental throughout the year. 

This year we are introducing a new Presidential Award, one that recognizing those that are growing the kite community online. 

To nominate someone for one of the awards, either reply directly to this email or use this form: AWARD NOMINATION

To find out more about the awards go  to :



Nic O’Neill

President – American Kitefliers Association

Link to my TED Talk about The Power of Kite Flying

AKA Youtube Channel

AKA Facebook Page
Instagram americankitefliers
Twitter akakiters


Additional contact info

Fortuna Found A Kite Travel Vlog