Archive by Author

2017 AKA Convention Workshop Schedule

AKA Workshop Schedule Ocean City, MD  October 10-14, 2017   Please note: All workshops are free to registered participants of the AKA Convention.  All workshop presenters are volunteers and donate their time for free.  In some classes, there may be a charge for materials but purchase is not required to sit in the classroom. There […]

More to do in Ocean City?

Are you planning on going to the AKA Convention? While we know everyone is coming for the kites and the kite community, we also know sometimes you need a break and want to do something else.  Here are a few suggestions of other things to see in do in Ocean City care of our friends […]

Sport Kite Figures for 2017 AKA Convention

Novice Precision, Pairs Precision and Team Precision is to be flown in the traditional format of three figures then the “technical” routine.  Experienced and Masters individual precision will be flown under the rules of “Program Precision” where the flyer is allowed a minimum of one, and  up to four minutes to fly a routine that […]

_DSC0252 Jon Trennepohl stick

Be Like Jon… Go to the Convention!

Recently we had a chance to sit down with Jon Trennepohl of Skyburner Kites. He has attended the convention more than once, and is looking forward to attending this year. You can find out more about Skyburner Kites at: Tell me about yourself I have been involved with kites for 28 years, kites took over […]

Regular Registration ends 9.15.2017

Did you know that the next change to registration for the AKA Annual convention happens on midnight of September 15th! Regular registration is now $250, but on the morning of September 16th it will jump up to ‘At the Door Prices’ of $290. Don’t wait till the last minute to take advantage of these savings. […]

AKA Candidate Bio/Statements

2017 AKA Election Presidential Candidate Bio Nicole O’Neill   A year ago I was asked if I wanted to step up to the challenge of running the American Kitefliers Association. From the start I knew that if I committed myself to this, it would not be something that I could realistically finish in a single […]