Welcome to the AKA Kite Talk Forum!

Sign In, Register for a Free Account, or Become a Member to gain access to our forums and downloads.

Photo
- - - - -

2014 AKA Annual Convention Registration is now open!

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 John Lutter

John Lutter

Advanced Member

• AKA Member

• 117 posts

Posted 16 June 2014 - 02:39 AM

Its that time of year again! Time to start thinking about attending the 2014 AKA Annual Convention!

Online registration and more information is available: http://kite.org/acti...aka-convention/

I hope to see and meet everyone in the Outerbanks!

John Lutter

President - American Kitefliers Association

#2 Michael Lowish

Michael Lowish

• AKA Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 August 2014 - 03:46 PM

A very basic question if you please:  I am a total newbie to modern kites.  I have jumped in if you will and own 8 modern kites and am learning to fly.  Will the conference be something for me or for the folks with many years of kite experience?  While I would like to see experts flying and a wide variety of kite experiences, I don't want to feel like the low end of the food chain with no real opportunities to learn and grow in my new hobby.  I hope to fly kites at the beach and will be staying 15 miles north of the conference.  Honestly, should I stay up north and enjoy flying?

#3 John Lutter

John Lutter

Advanced Member

• AKA Member

• 117 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 09:35 AM

I would say that if you have ANY interest in kites, that the convention will be something you will enjoy.

There will be the nation's best stunt kite pilots flying their routines at the competition fields, and kitemakers from all over the country (and world) will be flying and displaying their kites during the kitemaking competitions. 

The banquet and auction are a wonderful time, and a way to pick up some really unique kites.