Hang in there with us: AKA is redesigning this website. You should see something new and wonderful by the end of 2020. If you have more comments about what the new site should contain, please contact websitefeedback@kite.org.


The Executive Committee

(composed of the Officers of the Association and the remaining Directors-at-Large not serving as Officers conducts the affairs of the Association between meetings of the Board of Directors)

Office Name E-mail
President Drayton Callison (FL)  president@aka.kite.org
1st Vice-President Phillip Whitaker (OK)  vp1@aka.kite.org
2nd Vice-President Christian Baden Powell (TX) vp2@aka.kite.org
Treasurer Cecilia Dallmer (PA) treasurer@aka.kite.org
Secretary Ronda Brewer (OR) secretary@aka.kite.org
Director At Large dal2@aka.kite.org
Director At Large  dal3@aka.kite.org
Director At Large Lindsey Johnson (OR) dal5@aka.kite.org

Regional Directors

(represent the members in their geographical area)


Office Name Phone E-mail
Gary Engvall (RI) (401) 942-3606 rd1 at aka.kite.org
Region 1 Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Upstate New York, Rhode Island, Vermont
Region 2 New Jersey, Downstate New York, Pennsylvania Kurtis Jones (NJ) (201) 921-5518 rd2 at aka.kite.org
Region 3 Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia Mike Klaiber (VA) rd3 at aka.kite.org
Region 4 Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico Doug Engh (FL) (850) 803-7513 rd4 at aka.kite.org
Region 5 Michigan, Ohio John M. Graves (OH) (513) 777-2228 rd5 at aka.kite.org
Region 6 Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin Anthony Catalano rd6 at aka.kite.org
Region 7 Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, Utah Sherman Myers (UT) (801) 216-4722 rd7 at aka.kite.org
Region 8 Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Phillip Whitaker (OK) (580) 402-2102 rd8 at aka.kite.org
Region 9 Idaho, Montana, Oregon Brett Morris (OR) (541) 944-5588 rd9 at aka.kite.org
Region 10 Alaska, Washington Pamela Knight (WA) (253) 841-7104 rd10 at aka.kite.org
Region 11 N. California, Nevada Darril dela Torre (CA) (510) 233-4022 rd11 at aka.kite.org
Region 12 Arizona, S. California, Guam, Hawaii Glen Rothstein (CA) (213) 407-3515 rd12 at aka.kite.org
Region 13 International Gary Mark (ON) (647) 299-0822 rd13 at aka.kite.org

What is a Region? There are thirteen geographical regions represented on the Board of Directors. The United States and its territories are divided into twelve Regions approximately equal in voting population. Members residing outside of the United States and its territories shall constitute an International Region. (Region 13) Each Region is represented on the AKA Board by one elected Regional Director.

What is a Regional Director? Regional Directors represent the members in their geographical area. They vote on Association policy issues, attend local events, chair AKA committees, and prepare reports for the Kiting newsletter. Four of the twelve Directors are elected each year so that terms overlap.


Elected Committees

(established by the association by-laws, elected by the members attending the Annual Meeting)

Standing Committees

(seven established by the association by-laws, appointed by the President with the advice of the Directors and/or members)

(Re. sub-committees: see note for Special Committees below)
  1. Ways and Means
  2. Promotion and Membership
    • Renewal and Retention: Daniel Prentice <xd at aka.kite.org>
    • Industry Liaison:  Daniel Prentice  <xd at aka.kite.org>
    • Club Liaison: Mike Dallmer <clubs at aka.kite.org>
    • Corporate Liaison: <corpliason at aka.kite.org>
    • International: Linda Sanders (Australia) <region13 at aka.kite.org>
    • Merchandising: John Lutter (FL)  <merchandising at aka.kite.org>
  3. Safety and Ethics (Insurance)
    • Chair:   <safety at aka.kite.org>
  4. Festivals and Competitions
  5. Annual Meeting (Convention)
    • Chair: Phillip Whitaker <convention at aka.kite.org>
    • Marla Miller
    • Ron Miller
    • Cel Dallmer
    • Cliff Quinn
    • Ronda Brewer
    • Drayton Callison
    • Daniel Prentice
  6. Archives and Records Documentation
  7. Education and Public Service

Special Committees

(established at the discretion of the President or by majority vote of the Executive Committee, Board of Directors, or the membership. Such committees are dissolved at the second Annual Meeting following establishment unless re-established.)?

The Association, retains managerial, and other services to achieve it’s objectives.
  • The AKA Executive Director manages the national office, maintains membership records and financial accounts, and sells AKA manuals and rule books.
  • The AKA Kiting Editor manages production of the quarterly publication Kiting The Journal of the American Kitefliers Association.
    Articles, letters, and advertisements should be sent to:

  • The AKA Archivist maintains AKA records, club newsletters, minutes, reports and any other information of interest to the Association or kiting in general.
    • The World Kite Museum
      PO Box 964
      Long Beach, WA 98631
      Phone: (360) 642-4020
      Fax: (360) 642-2318

We would like to take this opportunity to recognize
those who have led the association in the past.
Our First Members(1964)
  • Robert M. Ingraham (Founder)
  • Benn Blinn
  • George M. Endicott
  • F. C. Jewell, M.D.
  • Francis M. Rogallo
  • Walter Scott
  • F. Rankin Weisgerber
  • Will Yolen
  • Anthony Zeigler
Past Presidents
  • Nic O’Neill (2016 – 2018)
  • John Lutter (2014 – 2016)
  • John Barresi (2013 – 2014)
  • Barbara Meyer (2010 – 2012)
  • Gary Engvall (2008 – 2009)
  • Susan Skinner (2007)
  • David Gomberg (2001 – 2006)
  • Adam Grow (2000)
  • Richard Dermer (1997 – 1999)
  • Peter Dolphin (1995 – 1996)
  • David Gomberg (1991 – 1994)
  • Jim M. Miller (1989 – 1990)
  • Corey Jenson (1988)
  • Robert S. Price (1987)
  • Margo Brown (1986)
  • Miller S. Makey, Sr. (1984 – 1985)
  • John F. “Jack” Van Gilder (1982 – 1983)
  • Bevan Brown (1981)
  • W. D. “Red” Braswell (1978 – 1980)
  • Valerie Govig (1977 – 1978)

Complete list of officers and directors since 1979 (link no longer available).

How to Run for AKA Office
All officers of the Association shall be members of the Association, twenty-one (21) years of age and shall be bonded.Elections are held by mail each fall and the results are announced at the Annual Meeting.

The President is elected annually by the general membership to a one year term.

Regional Directors, who must live in the region they represent, are elected to three year terms by members from those regions.

Elections for Directors from regions:

  • 1, 2, 3, and 4 are held in years divisible by 3 with no remainder (2019)
  • 5, 6, 7, and 8 are held in years divisible by 3 with a remainder of 1 (2020)
  • 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13 are held in years divisible by 3 with a remainder of 2 (2018)

The Executive Committee is nominated and elected by the members attending the Annual Meeting.

Nominations for President and Regional Directors must be submitted to the Nominations Committee no less than 60 days before the Annual Meeting.

For more information on running for office, contact the Nominations Committee at <nominations at aka.kite.org>